Skip to the content
Cal State L.A.


Educational Administration Programs

California State LA offers two kinds of Educational Administration Programs: Tier 1 and Tier 2.

Tier 1: Master of Arts in Educational Administration and Preliminary Administrative Services Credential Program

Tier 2: Clear Administrative Services Credential Program

All of the Educational Administration Programs at California State University, Los Angeles (CSULA) are accredited by the National Council on Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) and the California Commission on Accreditation (COA).

Tier 1: Masters of Arts in Educational Administration and Preliminary Administrative Services Credential Program

This program is designed for aspiring administrators who have successful years of teaching experiences.  The central focus of the program is to equip the candidates with skills and knowledge required to become effective instructional leaders for preK-12 schools. Grounded in research, candidates have multiple opportunities to link theory and practice throughout the program.

One of the special features of the program is the intertwined curriculum for both degrees and service credentials. Upon successful completion of the one-year program and final assessment, candidates receive Master of Arts degrees in Educational Ad- ministration and California Preliminary Administrative Services (Tier-1) Credentials.

The Tier-1 credential licenses candidates for all administrative and supervisory services, pre-kinder- garten through grade 12 in California public schools. This credential is valid for 5 years.

Accepted candidates are placed in a cohort that meets two evenings (4:20-7:55 p.m.) a week for one year and final assessment meetings in the last quarter. Candidates experience comradeship and life-long networking relationships with cohort peers and instructors.

The Educational Leadership Program also guides and coaches all candidates to become technology- experts through digital portfolios.

Admission to the Program: Eligibility Criteria

A Sample of Course Schedule

Quarter 1

Quarter 2

Quarter 3

Quarter 4

Final Assessment

back to top

Tier 2: Clear Administrative Services Credential Program

The Program is designed for new administrators to meet the performance standards of the California Clear Administrative Services Credential. The credential licenses holders to perform all administrative and supervisory services in grades prekindergarten-12 in California public or private schools.

The Clear Administrative Services Credential is valid for a period of five years, and renewable by submitting the normal application and fee to the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CCTC).

Admission to the Program: Eligibility Requirements

Minimum Credential Requirements (16 Units)

The following requirements are subject to change without notice. Students should consult the Division for current requirements. Minimal requirements for issuance of the Clear Administrative Services Credential include:

Required Courses (12 UNITS)

Elective Courses (4-36 UNITS)

Each candidate takes one or more electives based on the induction plan developed with the advisor and the mentor.

Other electives, including 120 hours of administrative non-university activities, may be selected with the approval of adviser.

back to top

5151 State University Drive . Los Angeles . CA 90032 . (323) 343-3000
2008 Trustees of the California State University

Last Update: 08/24/2011